Article Text

Response to: ‘Detection of myositis-specific antibodies’ by Vulsteke et al
  1. Anna Tjärnlund1,
  2. Johan Rönnelid2,
  3. Matteo Bottai3,
  4. Ingrid E Lundberg1
  1. 1Rheumatology Unit, Department of Medicine, Karolinska University Hospital, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden
  2. 2Department of Immunology, Genetics and Pathology, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden
  3. 3Unit of Biostatistics, Institute for Environmental Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden
  1. Correspondence to Professor Ingrid E Lundberg, Rheumatology Unit, Department of Medicine, Karolinska University Hospital, Karolinska Institutet , Stockholm SE-17176, Sweden; ingrid.lundberg{at}

Statistics from

It is with great interest we read the letter titled ‘Detection of myositis-specific antibodies’ by Dr Vulsteke et al1 published in the Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases. The authors analysed the presence of myositis-specific autoantibodies in patients with idiopathic inflammatory myopathies (IIM) and in controls consisting of patients with other inflammatory conditions and blood donors. These analyses were performed using three different assays. In addition, the authors studied the association of autoantibody positivity from the different assays with specific clinical phenotypes in patients with IIM. In conclusion differences in specificities between assay manufacturers and between individual antibodies were found. The authors point to the fact that autoantibody data, namely anti-Jo-1 autoantibody positivity, were included in the 2017 European League Against Rheumatism/American …

View Full Text

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Linked Articles

  • Correspondence
    Jean-Baptiste Vulsteke Ellen De Langhe Kristl G Claeys Doreen Dillaerts Koen Poesen Jan Lenaerts René Westhovens Philip Van Damme Daniel Blockmans Petra De Haes Xavier Bossuyt