Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Long-Term Efficacy and Safety of Infliximab plus Methotrexate for The Treatment of Polyarticular Course Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis: Findings from an Open-Label Treatment Extension
  1. Nicolino Ruperto (nicolaruperto{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
  1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Italy
    1. Daniel J Lovell (daniel.lovell{at}cchmc.org)
    1. Children's Hospital Medical Center, United States
      1. Ruben Cuttica (elizalde_reumato{at}buenosaires.gov.ar)
      1. Hospital General de Ninos Pedro de Elizalde, Argentina
        1. Patricia Woo (patricia.woo{at}ucl.ac.uk)
        1. University College London, United Kingdom
          1. Silvia Meiorin (smeiorin{at}hotmail.com)
          1. Hospital de Ninos Ricardo Gutierrez, Argentina
            1. Carine Wouters (carine.wouters{at}uz.kuleuven.ac.be)
            1. University Hospital Gasthuisberg, Belgium
              1. Earl D Silverman (earl.silverman{at}sickkids.ca)
              1. Hospital for Sick Children, Canada
                1. Zsolt Balogh (bazsoand{at}t-online.hu)
                1. National Institute of Rheumatology and Physiotherapy, Hungary
                  1. Michael Henrickson (michael-henrickson{at}ouhsc.edu)
                  1. Children's Hospital at OUMC, University of Oklahoma, United States
                    1. Joyce Davidson (joyce.davidson{at}yorkhill.scot.nhs.uk)
                    1. Royal Hospital for Sick Children, United Kingdom
                      1. Ivan Foeldvari (foeldvari{at}uke.uni-hamburg.de)
                      1. Hamburger Zentrum für Kinder- und Jugendrheumatologie, Germany
                        1. Lisa Imundo (lfi1{at}columbia.edu)
                        1. Columbia Presbyterian Med Center - Babies Hospital, United States
                          1. Gabriele Simonini (gabriele.simonini{at}unifi.it)
                          1. Ospedale A. Meyer, Italy
                            1. Joachim Oppermann (j_oppermann{at}t-online.de)
                            1. Carl-Thiem-Klinikum Cottbus, Germany
                              1. Yaung-Kaung Shen (yshen5{at}cntus.jnj.com)
                              1. Centocor, United States
                                1. Sudha Visvanathan (svisvana{at}cntus.jnj.com)
                                1. Centocor, United States
                                  1. Adedigbo Fasanmade (afasanma{at}cntus.jnj.com)
                                  1. Centocor, United States
                                    1. Alan Mendelsohn (amendel2{at}cntus.jnj.com)
                                    1. Centocor, United States
                                      1. Alberto Martini (albertomartini{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                                      1. University of Genoa, Italy
                                        1. Edward H Giannini (edward.giannini{at}cchmc.org)
                                        1. Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, United States

                                          Abstract

                                          Objective: Assess long-term efficacy and safety of infliximab plus methotrexate (MTX) in juvenile rheumatoid arthritis (JRA).

                                          Methods: Patients eligible for the open-label extension (OLE, weeks 52-204) received infliximab 3-6 mg/kg q8wks plus MTX.

                                          Results: Of the 78/122 (64%) children entering the OLE, 42 discontinued infliximab, most commonly due to consent withdrawal (11 patients), lack of efficacy (8 patients) or patient/physician/sponsor requirement (8 patients). Infliximab (mean dose=4.4 mg/kg/infusion) was generally well tolerated. Infusion reactions occurred in 32% (25/78) of patients, with a higher incidence in patients positive for antibodies to infliximab (58%, 15/26). At week 204, the proportions of patients achieving ACR-Pedi-30/50/70/90 response criteria and inactive disease status were 44%, 40%, 33%, 24%, and 13%, respectively.

                                          Conclusions: In the limited population of JRA patients remaining in the study through 4 years, infliximab was safe and effective but associated with a high patient discontinuation rate.

                                          Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                          Request permissions

                                          If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                                          Linked Articles