Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Does removal of AIDS/devices and help make a difference in the Childhood Health Assessment Questionnaire Disability Index?
  1. Claudia Saad-Magalhães (claudi{at}fmb.unesp.br)
  1. Hospital das Clínicas - Faculdade de Medicina de Botucatu, UNESP, Brazil
    1. Angela Pistorio (angelapistorio{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
    1. IRCCS Istituto G. Gaslini, Servizio di Epidemiologia e Biostatistica, Italy
      1. Angelo Ravelli (angeloravelli{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
      1. IRCCS Istituto G. Gaslini, Divisione di Pediatria II, Italy
        1. Giovanni Filocamo (giovannifilocamo{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
        1. IRCCS Istituto G. Gaslini, Divisione di Pediatria II, Italy
          1. Stefania Viola (stefaniaviola{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
          1. IRCCS Istituto G. Gaslini, Divisione di Pediatria II, Italy
            1. Riva Brik (r_brik{at}rambam.health.gov.il)
            1. Rambam Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics B, Israel
              1. Dimitrina Mihaylova (drdmm{at}hotmail.com)
              1. University Children Hospital, Department of Paediatric Rheumatology, Bulgaria
                1. Rebecca Ten Cate (r.ten_cate{at}lumc.nl)
                1. Academisch Ziekenhuis Leiden, Department of Pediatrics, J6-S, Netherlands
                  1. Boel Andersson Gare (boel.andersson-gare{at}lj.se)
                  1. Ryhov's County Hospital, Department of Child Public Health, Qulturum, Sweden
                    1. Virginia P L Ferriani (printo{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                    1. Hospital das Clinicas da Faculdade de Medicina de Ribeirao Preto da Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil
                      1. Kirsten Minden (kirsten.minden{at}charite.de)
                      1. Charite University Hospital Berlin, Kinderklinik, Rheumatologie, Germany
                        1. Philip J Hashkes (hashkep{at}ccf.org)
                        1. Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Dept. of Rheumatic Diseases A50, United States
                          1. Marite Rygg (marite.rygg{at}ntnu.no)
                          1. St. Olavs University Hospital of Trondheim, Department of Pediatrics, Norway
                            1. Marie-Josephe Sauvain (sauvain.family{at}freesurf.ch)
                            1. Policlinique de pediatrie Hopital Universitaire, Switzerland
                              1. Helen Venning (helen.venning{at}nuh.nhs.uk)
                              1. Nottingham University Hospital, Paediatric & Adolescent Rheumatology, United Kingdom
                                1. Alberto Martini (albertomartini{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                                1. IRCCS Istituto G. Gaslini, Divisione di Pediatria II, Italy
                                  1. Nicolino Ruperto (nicolaruperto{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                                  1. IRCCS Istituto G. Gaslini, Divisione di Pediatria II, Italy

                                    Abstract

                                    Objective: To assess whether the removal of aids/devices and/or help from another person in the Childhood Health Assessment Questionnaire (C-HAQ) leads to a significant change in the Disability Index (DI) score and responsiveness in juvenile idiopathic arthritis (JIA).

                                    Methods: We compared the C-HAQ DI score changes in a cross-sectional sample of 2,663 children with JIA and in 530 active JIA patients from a methotrexate (MTX) trial.

                                    Results: MTX trial patients had higher disease activity and disability compared to the cross-sectional sample. The frequency of aids/devices (range 1.2-10.2%) was similar between the 2 samples, while help (range 5.3-38.1%) was more frequently used in the MTX group. Correlation between disease severity variables and the two different C-HAQ DI scoring methods did not change substantially. There was a decrease in the C-HAQ DI score for both the cross-sectional (mean score from 0.64 with the original method to 0.54 without aids/devices and help, p <0.0001) and the MTX sample (mean score from 1.23 to 1.07, p <0.0001). A linear regression analysis of the original C-HAQ DI score versus the score without aids/devices and help demonstrated the substantial overlapping of the different scoring methods. Responsiveness in the responders to MTX treatment did not change with the different C-HAQ DI scoring methods (range 0.86-0.82).

                                    Conclusion: The removal of aids/devices and help from the C-HAQ does not alter the interpretation of disability at a group level. The simplified C-HAQ is a more feasible and valid alternative for the evaluation of disability in JIA patients.

                                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                    Request permissions

                                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.