Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Effects of porphyromonas gingivalis on cell cycle progression and apoptosis of primary human chondrocytes
  1. Nicole Pischon (nicole.pischon{at}charite.de)
  1. Dept. of Periodontology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
    1. Eric Roehner (eric.roehner{at}charite.de)
    1. Dept. Rheumatology and Immunology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
      1. Andreas Hocke (andreas.hocke{at}charite.de)
      1. Dept. Infectious Diseases and Pneumology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
        1. Philippe N'Guessan (dje_philippe.nguessan{at}charite.de)
        1. Dept. Infectious Diseases and Pneumology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
          1. Holger Christian Mueller (holger.mueller{at}charite.de)
          1. Dept. Infectious Diseases and Pneumology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
            1. Georg Matziolis (georg.matziolis{at}charite.de)
            1. Dept. of Orthopedics, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
              1. Verena Kanitz (verena.kanitz{at}charite.de)
              1. Dept. of Periodontology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
                1. Peter Purucker (peter.purucker{at}charite.de)
                1. Dept. of Periodontology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
                  1. Bernd-Michael Kleber (bernd-michael.kleber{at}charite.de)
                  1. Dept. of Periodontology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
                    1. Jean-Pierre Bernimoulin (jp.bernimoulin{at}charite.de)
                    1. Dept. of Periodontology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
                      1. Gerd Burmester (gerd.burmester{at}charite.de)
                      1. Dept. Rheumatology and Immunology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
                        1. Frank Buttgereit (frank.buttgereit{at}charite.de)
                        1. Dept. Rheumatology and Immunology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany
                          1. Jacqueline Detert (jacqueline.detert{at}charite.de)
                          1. Dept. Rheumatology and Immunology, Universitaetsmedizin Charite, Berlin, Germany

                            Abstract

                            Objective: A role of bacterial infections in the pathogenesis of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) has been suggested. P. gingivalis, a Gram-negative, anaerobic rod, is one of the major pathogens associated with periodontal disease (PD). The present study examines P. gingivalis infection and effects on cell cycle progression and apoptosis of human articular chondrocytes.

                            Methods: Primary human chondrocytes cultured in monolayers were challenged with P. gingivalis. Infection and invasion of P. gingivalis into chondrocytes was analyzed by scanning electron microscopy (SEM), double immunofluorescence and by antibiotic protection and invasion assay. Cell cycle progression of infected chondrocytes was evaluated by flow cytometry. Also, cell apoptosis was visualized by terminal deoxynucleotidyl transferase-mediated dUTP nick end labeling (TUNEL) of DNA strand breaks and by Western blot analysis.

                            Results: Data revealed that P. gingivalis was able to adhere and infect primary human chondrocytes. Following chondrocyte infection intracellular localization of P. gingivalis was noted. Flow cytometry analyses demonstrated affected cell cycle progression, with an increase of G1 phase and significant decrease of G2 phase post-infection. In addition, increased apoptosis of P. gingivalis infected chondrocytes was visualized by TUNEL assay as well as by an up-regulation of caspase-3 protein expression.

                            Conclusion: The present data demonstrate that P. gingivalis infects primary human chondrocytes and affects cellular responses, which might contribute to the tissue damage seen in the pathogenesis of RA.

                            Statistics from Altmetric.com

                            Request permissions

                            If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.