Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Modification and validation of the Birmingham Vasculitis Activity Score (Version 3)
  1. Chetan Mukhtyar (chetan.mukhtyar{at}ndos.ox.ac.uk)
  1. University of Oxford, United Kingdom
    1. Robert Lee (robert.lee{at}ed.ac.uk)
    1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
      1. Denise Brown (denise.brown{at}ndos.ox.ac.uk)
      1. University of Oxford, United Kingdom
        1. David Carruthers (david.carruthers{at}swbh.nhs.uk)
        1. Birmingham City Hospital, United Kingdom
          1. Bhaskar Dasgupta (bhaskar.dasgupta{at}southend.nhs.uk)
          1. Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
            1. Shirish Dubey
            1. Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
              1. Oliver Flossmann (oflossmann{at}doctors.org.uk)
              1. Addenbrooke's Hospital, United Kingdom
                1. Catherine Hall (cathyh{at}holyrood.ed.ac.uk)
                1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
                  1. Jane Hollywood
                  1. Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
                    1. David Jayne (dj106{at}cam.ac.uk)
                    1. Addenbrooke's Hospital, United Kingdom
                      1. Rachel Jones (rbjones{at}doctors.org.uk)
                      1. Addenbrooke's Hospital, United Kingdom
                        1. Peter Lanyon (peter.lanyon{at}nottingham.ac.uk)
                        1. Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom
                          1. Alice Muir
                          1. Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom
                            1. David Scott (david.scott{at}nnuh.nhs.uk)
                            1. Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
                              1. Laurel Young (laurel.young{at}royalberkshire.nhs.uk)
                              1. Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, United Kingdom
                                1. Raashid Luqmani (raashid.luqmani{at}noc.anglox.nhs.uk)
                                1. University of Oxford, United Kingdom

                                  Abstract

                                  Background: Comprehensive multi-system clinical assessment using the Birmingham Vasculitis Activity score (BVAS) is widely used in therapeutic studies of systemic vasculitis. Extensive use suggested a need to revise the instrument. The previous version of BVAS has been revised, according to usage and review by an expert committee.

                                  Objective: To modify and validate version 3 of the BVAS in patients with systemic vasculitis. Methods: The new version of BVAS was tested in a prospective cross-sectional study of patients with vasculitis.

                                  Results: The number of items was reduced from 66 to 56. The sub-scores for new/worse disease and persistent disease were unified. In 313 patients with systemic vasculitis, BVAS(v.3) correlated with treatment decision (Spearman's ρ 0.66, 95% CI 0.59-0.72), BVAS1 of version 2 (ρ 0.94, 95% CI 0.92-0.96), BVAS2 of version 2 in patients with persistent disease (ρ 0.60, 95% CI 0.21-0.83), C-reactive protein levels (ρ 0.43, 95% CI 0.31-0.54), physician's global assessment (ρ 0.91, 95% CI 0.89-0.93), and vasculitis activity index (ρ 0.88, 95%CI 0.86-0.91). The intra-class correlation coefficients for reproducibility and repeatability were 0.96 (95%CI 0.95-0.97) and 0.96 (95%CI 0.92-0.97) respectively. In 39 patients assessed at diagnosis and again at 3 months, the BVAS(v.3) fell by 17 (95% CI 15-19) units (P<0.001, paired t test).

                                  Conclusion: BVAS(v.3) demonstrates convergence with BVAS(v.2), treatment decision, physician global assessment of disease activity, vasculitis activity index and CRP. It is repeatable, reproducible and sensitive to change. The new version of BVAS is validated for assessment of systemic vasculitis.

                                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                  Request permissions

                                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.