Article Text

This article has a correction. Please see:

other Versions

PDF
Are laboratory tests useful for monitoring the activity of lupus nephritis? A six year prospective study in a cohort of 228 lupus nephritis patients.
  1. Gabriella Moroni (gmoroni{at}policlinico.mi.it)
  1. Fondazione Ospedale Maggiore, Milano, Italy
    1. Antonella Radice (a.radice{at}oscb.sined.net)
    1. Istitute of Microbiology, Azienda Ospedaliera San carlo Borromeo, Milano, Italy
      1. Gaia Giammarresi (gaiaqueen{at}hotmail.com)
      1. Chair of nephrology, Palermo, Italy
        1. Silvana Quaglini (silvana.quaglini{at}unipv.it)
        1. Dipariemnto di Informatica e sistemistica, Univesita' degli studi di Pavia, Italy
          1. Beniamina Gallelli (beniamina.gallelli{at}gmail.it)
          1. Fondazione Ospedale Maggiore, Milano, Italy
            1. Antonio Leoni (antonio.leoni{at}studenti.unimi.it)
            1. Fondazione Ospedale Maggiore, Milano, Italy
              1. Maurizio Li Vecchi (m.livecchi{at}hotmail.com)
              1. Chair of nephrology, University of palermo, Italy
                1. Piergiorgio Messa (pmessa{at}policlinico.mi.it)
                1. Fondazione Ospedale Maggiore, Milano, Italy
                  1. Renato Sinico (renato.sinico{at}oscb.sined.net)
                  1. Renal Unit and clinical immunology Unit, Azienda ospedaliera San carlo Borromeo, Milano, Italy

                    Abstract

                    Objectives: To evaluate the role of immunological tests for monitoring lupus nephritis (LN) activity.

                    Methods: C3, C4, anti-dsDNA and anti-C1q antibodies were prospectively performed over 6 years in 228 LN patients.

                    Results: In membranous LN only anti-C1q antibodies differentiated proteinuric flares from quiescent disease (p=0.02). However, in this group 46% of flares occurred with a normal value of anti-C1q antibodies versus 20% in proliferative LN (p=0.02). In patients with antiphospholipid antibodies (APL), 33% of flares occurred with normal levels of anti-C1q antibodies versus 14.5% in APL-negative patients (p=0.02). In proliferative LN, anti-C1q antibodies showed a slightly better sensitivity and specificity (80.5 and 71% respectively) than other tests for the diagnosis of renal flares. All 4 tests had good negative predictive value (NPV). At univariate analysis anti-C1q was the best renal flare predictor (p<0.0005). At multivariate analysis, the association of anti-C1q with C3 and C4 provided the best performance (p<0.0005,p<0.005,p<0.005 respectively).

                    Conclusions: Anti-C1q is slightly better than the other tests to confirm the clinical activity of LN, particularly in patients with proliferative LN and in the absence of APL. All 4 "specific" tests had a good NPV, suggesting that, in the presence of normal values of each, active LN is unlikely.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                    Linked Articles

                    • Correction
                      BMJ Publishing Group Ltd and European League Against Rheumatism