Article Text

other Versions

PDF

Long-term effects of bosentan on quality of life, survival, safety and tolerability in pulmonary arterial hypertension related to connective tissue diseases
  1. Christopher P Denton (c.denton{at}medsch.ucl.ac.uk)
  1. Royal Free Hospital, United Kingdom
    1. Janet E Pope (janet.pope{at}sjhc.london.on.ca)
    1. St. Joseph’s Healthcare, Canada
      1. Hans-Hartmut Peter (hans-hartmut.peter{at}uniklinik-freiburg.de)
      1. Med. Universitätsklinik Freiburg, Germany
        1. Armando Gabrielli (a.gabrielli{at}univpm.it)
        1. Azienda Ospedaliera Umberto I, Italy
          1. Anco Boonstra (a.boonstra{at}vumc.nl)
          1. Vrije Universteit Medisch Centrum, Netherlands
            1. Frank H. J. van den Hoogen (f.vandenhoogen{at}reuma.umcn.nl)
            1. Universitair Medisch Centrum St. Radboud, Netherlands
              1. Gabriela Riemekasten (gabriela.riemekasten{at}charite.de)
              1. Charité Universitätsmedizin, Germany
                1. Salvatore De Vita (salvatore.devita{at}med.uniud.it)
                1. Azienda Ospedaliero Universitaria, Italy
                  1. Adele Morganti (adele.morganti{at}actelion.com)
                  1. Actelion Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Switzerland
                    1. Ouali Berkani (ouali.berkani{at}actelion.com)
                    1. Actelion Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Switzerland
                      1. Loic Guillevin (loic.guillevin{at}cch.ap-hop-paris.fr)
                      1. Hopital Cochin, France

                        Abstract

                        Objectives: This study investigated the long-term effects of bosentan, an oral endothelin ETA/ETB receptor antagonist, in patients with pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH) exclusively related to connective tissue diseases (CTD).

                        Methods: Fifty-three patients with PAH related to connective tissue diseases (PAH-CTD) in WHO functional class III received bosentan 62.5 mg b.i.d. for 4 weeks and then 125 mg b.i.d. for 44 weeks in this open non-comparative study. Assessments at Weeks 16 and 48 included WHO class, clinical worsening, quality of life (Short-Form Health Survey (SF-36) and health assessment questionnaire (HAQ) modified for scleroderma), and survival (Week 48 only). Safety and tolerability were monitored throughout the study.

                        Results: At Week 48, WHO class improved in 27% of patients (95% CI: [16%:42%]) and worsened in 16% (95% CI: [7%:29%]). Kaplan-Meier estimates were 68% (95% CI: [55%:82%]) for absence of clinical worsening and 92% (95% CI: [85%:100%]) for survival. Overall changes in quality of life were minimal. There were no unexpected side effects observed during the study.

                        Conclusions: In most patients, bosentan was associated with improvement or stability of clinical status. The 92% estimate for survival at 48 weeks is a significant achievement in this patient population.

                        • Bosentan
                        • connective tissue diseases
                        • endothelin
                        • endothelin receptors
                        • pulmonary arterial hypertension

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.