Article Text

other Versions

PDF
A longitudinal analysis of physical functional disability over the course of juvenile idiopathic arthritis
  1. Silvia Magni-Manzoni (s.magnimanzoni{at}smatteo.pv.it)
  1. IRCCS Policlinico S. Matteo, Pavia, Italy
    1. Angela Pistorio (angelapistorio{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
    1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy
      1. Elena Labò (cielo8{at}freemail.it)
      1. IRCCS Policlinico S. Matteo, Italy
        1. Stefania Viola (stefaniaviola{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
        1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy
          1. Pablo Garcia-Munitis (pgarciamunitis{at}mdht.com.ar)
          1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy
            1. Serena Panigada (serenapanigada{at}libero.it)
            1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy
              1. Chiara Visconti (chiaravisconti{at}libero.it)
              1. IRCCS Policlinico S. Matteo, Pavia, Italy
                1. Antonella Buoncompagni (antonellabuoncompagni{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy
                  1. Alberto Martini (albertomartini{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                  1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy
                    1. Angelo Ravelli (angeloravelli{at}ospedale-gaslini.ge.it)
                    1. IRCCS G. Gaslini, Genova, Italy

                      Abstract

                      Objective: To describe the longitudinal course of physical functioning in children with juvenile idiopathic arthritis and identify predictors of long-term functional impairment.

                      Methods: Between January 1987 and December 2002, 227 patients had 2 or more functional ability questionnaires completed by a parent. The total number of questionnaires was 1356 and the follow-up between the first and the last questionnaire administration was 949.7 patient/years. At each questionnaire administration, patients were assigned to 1 of 3 functional disability states (1=no disability; 2=mild-to-moderate disability; 3=severe disability), based on their functional ability score. Predictor variables included sex, onset age, JIA category, age at visit, disease duration, presence of antinuclear antibodies, joint counts, acute phase reactants, and initial disability state.

                      Results: Despite patient variability in the course of physical functioning, the following 3 longitudinal patterns were observed: 1) a stable state of disability throughout the entire study period, with continued absence of disability in 27.8% of patients and persistently moderate disability in 3.5% of patients; 2) a steady improvement (22.9% of patients) or deterioration (5.7% of patients) in disability over time; 3) a fluctuating course of disability, with both deterioration and improvement (40.1% of patients). Younger age at disease onset and a greater restricted joint count were the strongest predictors of long-term functional impairment.

                      Conclusion: A wide within-patient and between-patient variability in the longitudinal course of functional disability was found. Children with early disease onset and a greater number of restricted joints had the highest risk of developing long-term physical disability.

                      • Childhood Health Assessment Questionnaire
                      • Disability
                      • Functional assessment
                      • Health outcomes
                      • Juvenile idiopathic arthritis

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      Request permissions

                      If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.