Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Long term effects of Infliximab on bone and cartilage turnover markers in patients with rheumatoid arthritis
  1. Florence Chopin (flochop{at}hotmail.com)
  1. Inserm U890, University Hospital of St-Etienne, France
    1. Patrick Garnero (patrick.garnero{at}synarc.com)
    1. Molecular Markers, Synarc, Lyon, France
      1. Anne le Henanff (anne.lehenanff{at}bch.ap-hop-paris.fr)
      1. Hôpital Bichat, Paris, France
        1. Françoise Debiais (f.debiais{at}chu-poitiers.fr)
        1. University Hospital of Poitiers, France
          1. Alain Daragon (alain.daragon{at}chu-rouen.fr)
          1. University Hospital of Rouen, France
            1. Christian Roux (christian.roux{at}cch.ap-hop-paris.fr)
            1. Hôpital Cochin, Paris, France
              1. Jacques Sany (j-sany{at}chu-montpellier.fr)
              1. Hôpital Lapeyronie, Montpellier, France
                1. Daniel Wendling (daniel.wendling{at}ufc-chu.univ-fcomte.fr)
                1. University Hospital of Besançon, France
                  1. Charles Zarnitsky (czarnitsky{at}ch-havre.fr)
                  1. Groupe Hospitalier du Havre, France
                    1. Philippe Ravaud (philippe.ravaud{at}bch.ap-hop-paris.fr)
                    1. Hôpital Bichat, Paris, France
                      1. Thierry Thomas (thierry.thomas{at}univ-st-etienne.fr)
                      1. Inserm U890, University Hospital of St-Etienne, France

                        Abstract

                        Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) is associated with systemic bone loss, subchondral bone erosion and cartilage degradation, under the control of pro-inflammatory cytokines, including TNFα. Therefore, we tested the hypothesis that administration of infliximab, an anti-TNFα drug in the treatment of RA would modulate both systemic and local bone resorption and reduce cartilage degradation. We performed a prospective study of a multicentric cohort of 48 women, mean age 54.2±12.1 years old, with severe RA for 11.4±7.8 years, who started infliximab after failure of other disease-modifying antirheumatic drugs. At baseline and 6, 22 and 54 weeks after initiating Infliximab therepy we measured the following biochemical markers: serum type I procollagen N-terminal propeptide (PINP), a marker of bone formation, serum C-terminal cross-linked telopeptide of type I collagen (CTX-I), a marker of cathepsin K-mediated bone collagen degradation believed to reflect systemic bone resorption, serum carboxyterminal cross-linked telopeptide of type I collagen (ICTP), an index of matrix-metalloprotease (MMP) mediated type I collagen degradation reflecting preferential joint metabolism and urinary CTX-II a biochemical markers of cartilage degradation. Total hip and lumbar spine bone mineral density (BMD) was assessed at baseline, and after 6 and 12 months by DXA.

                        No patient received bisphosphonates while 77% were under oral glucocorticoids. BMD remained stable over one year. Serum CTX-I levels rapidly decreased by 19% and 28% at week 6 and week 22, respectively (p ANOVA=0.032) values returning to pre-treatment level at week 54. In contrast ICTP levels progressively declined with a maximal 25% decrease at week 54 (p ANOVA=0.028). On the other hand, PINP levels remained stable over time, which led to a 30 to 40% improvement in bone remodeling balance, as assessed by the ratios PINP/CTX and PINP/ICTP (p<0.05). There was no significant change of urinary CTX-II in the whole population, but a slight decrease (P ANOVA=0.041) in those with pretreatment levels above the upper limit of normal range. In summary, the improvement in the formation/resorption marker ratio suggests beneficial systemic and local bone effects of infliximab in patients with RA.

                        • activity
                        • bone biomarkers
                        • cartilage biomarkers
                        • osteoporosis
                        • rheumatoid arthritis

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.