Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Phenotypical and functional characteristics of in vitro expanded bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells from systemic sclerosis patients
  1. Jérôme Larghero (jerome.larghero{at}sls.aphp.fr)
  1. Saint-Louis Hospital, France
    1. Dominique Farge (dominique.farge-bancel{at}sls.ap-hop-paris.fr)
    1. Saint-Louis Hospital, France
      1. Alessandra Braccini (abraccini{at}uhbs.ch)
      1. University Hospital Basel, Switzerland
        1. Séverine Lecourt (lecourt.severine{at}neuf.fr)
        1. Saint-Louis Hospital, France
          1. Arnaud Scherberich (ascherberich{at}uhbs.ch)
          1. University Hospital Basel, Switzerland
            1. Elena Foïs (e.fois{at}free.fr)
            1. Saint-Louis Hospital, France
              1. Franck Verrecchia (franck.verrecchia{at}stlouis.inserm.fr)
              1. Saint-Louis Hospital, France
                1. Thomas Daikeler (tdaikeler{at}uhbs.ch)
                1. University of Basel, Switzerland
                  1. Eliane Gluckman (eliane.gluckman{at}sls.ap-hop-paris.fr)
                  1. Saint-Louis Hospital, France
                    1. Alan Tyndall (alan.tyndall{at}fps-basel.ch)
                    1. University of Basel, Switzerland
                      1. Chiara Bocelli-Tyndall (chiara.tyndall{at}fps-basel.ch)
                      1. University of Basel, Switzerland

                        Abstract

                        Background: Mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) have a potential immunomodulatory role in autoimmune disease (AD), but the qualitative properties and hematopoietic support capacity of MSCs derived from AD patients is unclear.

                        Objectives: To further characterise phenotypically and functionally bone marrow (BM)-derived MSCs from patients with systemic sclerosis (SSc). Methods: Key parameters of BM derived MSC function and phenotype were assessed in 12 SSc patients and compared to 13 healthy normal controls. The parameters included the ability: to form colony forming unit-fibroblast (CFU-F), to differentiate along the adipogenic and osteogenic lineages, to express cell surface antigens defining the MSCs population, to support normal hematopoiesis and to suppress in vitro lymphocyte proliferation induced by either anti-CD3ε plus anti-CD28 monoclonal antibodies or the mixed lymphocyte reaction.

                        Results: SSc MSCs were shown to have similar characteristic phenotype, capacities to form CFU-F and to differentiate along adipogenic and osteogenic lineages as those of healthy donor MSCs. The ability of SSc MSCs to support long-term hematopoiesis was also identical to that of controls. Both healthy donor and SSc patient BM-MSCs reduced the proliferation of autologous and allogeneic PBMCs in a cell number dependent fashion.

                        Conclusion: These results show that BM-derived MSCs from SSc patients under the described culture conditions exhibit the same phenotypic, proliferative, differentiation potential and immunosuppressive properties as their healthy counterparts and could therefore be considered in an autologous setting. Further studies are needed to ensure quality and safety of large scale expansion of patient MSCs prior to their potential use in clinical trials.

                        • autoimmune disease
                        • hematopoiesis
                        • immune response regulation
                        • mesenchymal stem cells
                        • systemic sclerosis

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.